Tags

, , , , ,

Last year I waited too late to make Christmas gifts.  My mom fell and broke her hip and all my last-minute plans were thwarted. This year I am starting early. Additionally, the Gainesville Modern Quilt Guild is considering a craft show fundraiser, so I shared some of these gift ideas with them at our last meeting. Maybe this will inspire you to get started on Christmas gifts early.

clutchesClutches – I have experimented with different clutch frames and interfacing. I like the stability that Annie’s Soft and Stable brings to bags, but I haven’t decided which clutch frame I like the best. I have used the tutorial from the Martha Stewart Show here and Lisa Lam’s Easy Peasy Purse pattern (U-handbag) from the current issue (Issue 8) Love Patchwork and Quilting Magazine.

chucksShoe Laces – I took Liesel Gibson’s Creative Bug class on making shoe laces. I love these! I deviated from Liesel’s instructions a bit and used bias strips and stitched with a stretch stitch, as a regular stitch popped when tightening the laces. I’ve received such a positive reaction from these that I decided to carry them in my Etsy shop. I need to schedule a marathon lace making day!

key fobs

Key Fobs – This gift is a staple in my Etsy Shop. I thought some key fobs that matched the shoe laces would be cute. I normally use designer ribbon or leather in my key fobs, but this time I used quilting fabric and I am happy with the results.

placemats

Round Placemats and Napkins – These 16″ round reversible placements are easy to make with Pellon Craft-Fuse interfacing, bias binding and beautiful quilting fabric. The napkins are made using my pattern.

IMG_1191MQG Michael Miller Challenge Quilt – I’m making slow progress on the challenge quilt. What have you been working on?

 

 

 

BooksGiveaway – My last post was my 100th post! To celebrate I would like to give away the book, Quilting With A Modern Slant, by Rachel May. Rachel is a founding member of the Boston Modern Quilt Guild and is a PhD candidate in English and cultural studies with a focus on quilts and narrative. The book is all about modern quilting and more than 70 modern quilt artists. To enter the give away, please leave a comment about your modern quilt journey by July 12th. I will have the drawing on July 13th.

Link up – I’m linking up with Lee over at Freshly Pieced for WIP Wednesday. Please check out the other blogger’s WIP’s and don’t forget to leave quilt love.