Tags

,

100_0432It never ceases to amaze me how pattern is created from simple geometric shapes. I have recently been playing with hexagon shapes, but now I am playing around with the parallelogram shape. Before I ever got the Accuquilt die cutting systems, I made this design for the MQG Robert Kaufman Challenge. I didn’t even realize that I was making parallelograms, as I started with 5″ charm squares, cut them in half diagonally, then inserted strips.

MQG Michael Miller ChallengeAs I started working on the MQG Michael Miller Challenge quilt, I chose the parallelogram shape and starting cutting them and arranging them into a chevron design. It was then that I realized that this was very similar to the Robert Kaufman Challenge Quilt.

Not wanting to make the same type quilt again, I starting playing around with a different arrangement and realized I could create pinwheels by adding half square triangles to each side of the parallelogram. After playing around with the fabric placement in EQ7 I came IMG_1191up with this design, which seems fitting for fabric called “Petal Pinwheels.” I call my quilt “Parallelo Pinwheels.” As the deadline for the challenge approaches, I am not sure how large this quilt will be, but I do hope to finish it in time.

I am linking up with Lee over at Freshly Pieced. Please check out some of the other WIP Wednesday posts and send quilty love to the other bloggers participating in the link up.

Parallelo Pinwheels.PJ7Parallelo Pinwheels.PJ7