Tags

,

Wow, I can’t believe summer is over! My summer started with a very valuable employee leaving, which put me in a world of hurt as far as work goes. Consequently, my sewing and quilting world has come to a dramatic slow down. With no sewing, there isn’t much for me to blog about. I do miss both sewing and blogging.

I thought I would do a short post on the small little projects I have been doing for the “Get Your Hex On!” bee that I am participating in.

Get Your Hex On - AprilFirst was the April block, which was a segment from the “Flower Ball Quilt” designed by Geta Grama.

Hexie Sewing Machine

 

 

 

 

In May, 40 black hexies formed a sewing machine motive. Black fabric and black thread is difficult to work with, isn’t it?

HexiesThe June hexies will become part of the June Queen Bee’s table runner.

100_2608

The July block used elongated pentagons for a portion of a wall hanging.

August_2013(1)

 

 

August was an easy month, with 2 star blossoms.

August_2013(2)

I just received my fabrics for September, which is a large hexie flowerette, with two rounds.

Sexy Hexy

I have gotten much better with sewing the hexies together, moving from a whip stitch to a ladder stitch, which doesn’t show at all. I even experimented with a block for my month, which is February, 2014, playing around with some trapezoids and hexies for a take on Amy Butler’s “Sexy Hexy” quilt. My third round is larger than the round in Amy’s pattern. I haven’t decided on this yet, but I thought a bunch of these would make a cool table runner, but I am not sure. What do you think?