Tags

, , ,

Like I don’t have a million projects already, I picked up another one at the Gainesville Modern Quilt Guild meeting Wednesday night!

IMG_0916For a recap of the meeting, here is Mia’s second quilt top. What a great job she did, it looks like plaid. IMG_0917Brigit shared a few of her small quilts. Her style is very modern, I just love it. Other projects were shared, but I didn’t get pictures of all of them. IMG_0918I’m sure they will all be posted on the guild’s website. We did a UFO swap and the idea is to finish the UFO (UnFinished Object) and then we will donate the quilts to a children’s charity. We are participating in Swim, Bike, Quilt’s annual 100 Quilts for Kids charity quilt drive.

Gina's Block 3I came home with two LARGE kaleidoscope blocks and a piece of a strip set from Gina. Gina has a terrific color sense and I was happy to get her blocks. She uses a lot of Kaffe Fassett fabrics and I have my own personal stash of Kaffe Fassett fabrics so I knew I had what a needed on hand to finish this project.  Gina said “I’m so happy you got my blocks because you are so precise and accurate and I am not.” I’m sure she can’t wait to see what I do with her blocks. Even though some say there are no rules in modern quilting, I beg to differ. Since I machine quilt my quilts, they need to be flat to avoid puckers (Gina hand quilts her quilts). In order for that to happen, the components must be pressed and pieced accurately. Gina's BlockI hope she is not offended, but first thing I did was take Gina’s wedges apart and pressed the seams open and eliminated all seams where the block came to a point to reduce bulk. I did this by drafting a Broken Spider Web Block in EQ7 (Electric Quilt) then printing on freezer paper. I ironed the freezer paper to the wedges and cut out accurate wedges. Next I cut out my star pieces with the freezer paper templates I drafted in EQ7. IMG_0919Then I pulled out lots of strips and pieced strip sets. Here is a picture of my cutting table. I cut out the remaining pieces and here is the result on the design wall. IMG_0920It contains fabrics from Kaffe Fassett, Amy Butler, Denyse Schmidt and several other designers for Michael Miller. The star pieces are linen. I used white at first, but the linen fabric looked so much better. What a great quilt! I don’t want to give it away, I love it! Now I need to make one for myself. I have until September to finish it, but since I was so inspired I couldn’t stop working on it. I love when that happens, don’t you? That is what the guild meetings are all about-inspiring and learning from each other!