Tags

IMG_0881Wow! I can’t believe June is about over. Where did May and June go? May started out with the Tree City Quilter’s Bi-Annual Quilt Show. I had entered my quilt “Winter Palace” after a call from the Gainesville Modern Quilters to enter some modern quilts in the show. My quilt was one of three modern quilts in the show and to my surprise, it won second place in the category “Medium Pieced Duet.” Joan Gamble was the long-arm machine quilter and she won a ribbon too!. This quilt is one I designed for The Modern Quilt Guild Robert Kaufman challenge in 2012.IMAG0350

In other quilty events, Linda Hungerford from the Central Florida Modern Quilt Guild and I, representing the Gainesville Modern Quilters, jointly presented a program on modern quilting to the Country Road Quilters in Ocala, Florida in May. We IMAG0352shared a PowerPoint presentation and quilter’s resource list that we developed via email and also shared our modern quilts. Here is Linda talking about her Supernova quilt. We did the same presentation for the Bradenton chapter of The Quilt Guild of the Villages in The Villages, Florida in June. There was a great turnout at both events.

Here is a picture of me sharing my Bento Box quilt.

Bento Box100_2463

One quilt that I shared was a recent finish. Even though I originally made this quilt in 2008, I just finished the binding. It is made with Amy Butler’s Belle fabric line. Since Amy just re-released this fabric, it seems like a brand new quilt.100_2462

Also finished, in time for the modern quilting presentation, was “Baby Shoofly II.” Both quilts shown here (Baby Shoofly II and Simple Squared) were complete with the machine applied piped binding technique popularized by Ricky Tims in his video, Grand Finale.100_2451

On May 18th and June 15th was the Jacksonville Modern Quilt Guild Meeting at Lynn and Bob Provencher’s shop, Country Crossroads Quilt Shop in Orange Park, FL. We are growing slowly and we always have lots of fun. We have a new blog with lots of things going on, check it out here.

Over the 4th of July weekend I plan to work on my studio. I tore it up Memorial Day weekend, working on my die-cutting corner. It is an absolute wreck and very difficult to work in. I hope to have some great pictures of that project soon.

Have a wonderful weekend! I will be at another sew-in of the Jacksonville Modern Quilt Guild’s Quilts for Boston project on Saturday. Come join us if you are in the area.