Tags

, ,

The Jacksonville Modern Quilt Guild has volunteered to assist the Boston Modern Quilt Guild with the comfort quilt project for the victims of the Boston Marathon bombing. The BMQG has received blocks from all over the world for this project. Yvonne, a member of both guilds (Jacksonville and Boston) brought back 80 blocks and she has been coordinating the effort to make several lap size (50″ x 60″) quilts. I started out with six blocks, then three blocks, then two blocks and one of my one.

Lone Starburst BlockI made this paper-pieced block from the free pattern on Craftsy from Anna Politzer of Six White Horses Studio, called Lone Starburst. I must say I got the idea from Yvonne’s blog post on the blocks she was making to send to Boston. This was one of the blocks she made recently and I really admired it. While I used the wrong paper for piecing the block and didn’t use a small enough stitch length, it turned out pretty good in spite of all my problems. I really haven’t done a lot of paper piecing and it took me about three tries before I got the hang of it. I’m not sure I am in love with this technique, but I sure do love the accuracy.

Here is what I have so far, check back for the finished top and finished quilt. I thought about the fact that there might not be a lot of “guy” quilts, so I hope this one will be more on the masculine side.

Quilt for Boston

For more info on this project, check out the Jacksonville Modern Quilt Guild’s blog. If you are in the area, please join us for a meeting or one of the scheduled sew-in dates.

More on what I have been up to for the last two months in my next post.

I’m linking up with Lee over at Freshly Pieced for WIP Wednesday.  Please check out the other blogger’s works in progress and leave comments. Everyone loves comments.