Tags

, ,

Just Passing Through 1I finally finished the back to Baby Shoofly #2. This quilt back is an improvisational pieced back adapted from a design by Weeks Ringle and Bill Kerr called Just Passing Through, published in the #4 issue of Modern Quilts Illustrated. The piecing in this quilt intrigued me, so I thought I would give it a try. I started out thinking that this would be very laborious with the 1/2″ finished strips of fabric, however,  I was surprised to find that the improvisational blocks were very addictive, I could not stop making them. I love the instructions in Modern Quilts Illustrated. Bill does a great job with graphics that tell the whole story of how to make the quilt, not a lot of written instructions. I am very visual, so this works for me. I’m not really one to read directions, I just dive right in. I cut all the strips with my 1″ strip die from Sizzix. It was a quick, easy and accurate process. After purchasing the magenta fabric I pondered the thought of the color bleeding on to the white quilt 1 in stripstop. I washed the fabric with a Shout Color Catcher and the color catcher came out pink. I next washed with another Shout Color Catcher and some older white/off white dish towels. The color catcher came out pink again, but the towels were not fazed. How do they do that?

Just Passing Through 2My Bernina 830 is fixed (needed a new pressure foot sensor) so I am headed up to Jacksonville (FL) today to retrieve her from Paula’s Fine Fabrics, my Bernina dealer. I hope to play more with some PaintWorks designs when I get her back so I can make a label for a quilt I am entering into a show in Gainesville (FL). I have two weeks to get it ready.

I’m linking up with AmandaJean’s Finish It Up Friday blog post over at Crazy Mom Quilts. Please check out the other finishes that other bloggers have posted.