Tags

, , ,

Get Your Hex On - AprilI recently joined an online quilting bee, Get Your Hex On!! This bee is all about working with English Paper Piecing (EPP) hexagon shapes. I haven’t done English Paper Piecing for a time, so there was a little learning curve getting back into the process.  The first month was this short of wonky flower shape. I received my packet in the mail from the April bee leader with pattern shapes, instructions and fabric. The April leader is making a wall-hanging with the pattern by Geta Grama, Flower Ball.  All Geta’s patterns are on sale today for $5. You might want to check out her blog.  I am proud to have this finished and get it home to our April leader next week. I don’t have to worry about my project until later, as my month is February 2014, but I’m already thinking about it. Even though it is a small finish, I’m linking up with AmandaJean over at Crazy Mom Quilts for Finish It Up Friday.

bunnyLast Saturday I attended a demo/class at my Bernina dealer’s shop. It was on the relatively new Bernina software and tools, DesignWorks. This product works with Bernina embroidery systems and includes CutWork, PaintWork and CrystalWork. Cutwork is the original module and I purchased this when it came out. I mainly use this in conjunction with my die cutting systems so I can digitize the embroidery for the applique shapes cut with my dies.  Not exactly what it was intended for, but it really works great. I purchased the PaintWork module probably last November, but had never gotten around to playing with it. After the class last dragonfliesSaturday, I was anxious to get home and start playing. This module uses fabric markers to “paint” the design. It is kind of like embroidering, but without the needle and thread. Here are some designs I played around with. The Bunny Sketch is from an Urban Threads embroidery design that I converted to a PaintWork design. The dragonflies come from the Little Japan font that I purchased from Fonts.com for Dragonfly Quiltworks. I am still experimenting with different markers, however during my playtime my Bernina 830 got a error message and told me to take her into the dealer. Bummer! I think the PaintWork tool will be great for painting on clothing, placemats and napkins.  The CrystalWork tool looks pretty cool, but I’m not sure how much I would use it. My granddaughters would probably love a little “bling”. We’ll just have to see about that later.

Have a great weekend everyone and try something new!