Tags

, ,

2013-National-Quilting-Day-250What did you do for National Quilting Day? I had several options. The Original Sewing and Quilting Expo was in Lakeland and I thought I might attend it until I figured out it would be a six-hour round trip. A bus of quilters from our area went down on Friday, but unfortunately, I had to work.  The annual Trenton Quilt and Craft Show was also on Saturday. It is an annual outdoor show (Saturday only) and the weather proved to be gorgeous for the event. It is about an hour drive for me to the west. There is a great destination quilt shop in Trenton, The Suwanee Valley Quilt Shop

Also on Saturday, The Jacksonville Modern Quilt Guild was having a meeting in Orange Park (an hour drive to the east). As you might guess, I opted for the modern quilt group. Improv BlockThe meeting was held at Country Crossroads Quilt Shop, owned by Lynn and Bob Provencher. Lynn gave a demonstration of lots of cool products which is always fun and she also gave us a challenge for next month’s meeting. Our challenge this month was a grey and turquoise 12-inch finished quilt block. We could use any technique, however the colors should be primarily grey and turquoise. I pulled out a bunch of grey and turquoise fabric and opted for an improvisational block. This was my first attempt making an improvisational block and I am very pleased with it, however, I think it is a little safe. I couldn’t resist the bit of orange. I know, I didn’t really follow the rules, but I had to add my signature, after all I am a Florida gator!

Quilting ModernIf you aren’t familiar with improvisational piecing, it is a process of piecing that involves a cycle of auditioning, cutting, sewing and reviewing. It is a trial-and-error process.  This process involves releasing your perfectionist tendencies and trusting your gut. It is a great 15 Minutes of Playprocess for using up scraps. While some people take to this process like a duck to water, I am very intimidated by this process. I hope to get better at it. Being the accountant personality that I am, this is hard for me. Although I don’t always like the look, I am intrigued by it. I am currently reading Quilting Modern, by Jacquie Gering and Katie Pedersen and 15 Minutes of Play Improvisational Quilts by Victoria Findlay Wolfe. Both are great books if you are interested in this process.

Practice Sample FrontWhile in Jacksonville I also visited Cinnamon’s Quilt Shoppe and Paula’s Fine Fabrics. I picked up a few necessary supplies and some not so necessary. Paula sells Bernina and BabyLock machines. I brought my Practice Sample Backsample quilting that I shared on my last blog post with serpentine stitch #4. Paula was amazed! She was not aware that cool stitch could be done with stitch #4. Here is a photo of another sample I made stitching a row every half-inch.