100_2312Today I want to discuss the quilting element. Many of today’s modern quilters want to quilt their quilts themselves, therefore many are quilted on home sewing machines, rather than long-arm machines. As I discussed in a previous post I am trying to learn to free-motion quilt, however, the learning curve is huge and I want to get some quilts done now! I have been playing around with the Churn Dash Block with leftover fat quarters of the Modern Quilt Guild Madrona Road challenge. I made 10 blocks and only 8 blocks made the cut for two baby quilts measuring 42″ x 42″. Here are four of the blocks on the design wall auditioning binding fabric.

100_2321As luck would have it, on Sunday I was watching an episode of The Quilt Show featuring modern quilter, Jacquie Gering. Jacquie demonstrated how she achieved the wavy line quilting on some of her quilts. I was amazed and immediately made a practice quilt sandwich with 100_2320one of the churn dash blocks that didn’t make the cut, some backing fabric and batting. This is the result. I really like it. Modern quilting is about creating texture with the quilting stitches and is very organic. I think I have accomplished this. Thank you Jacquie!

100_2315

How is it done you ask? Jacquie called this a serpentine stitch and it is #4 stitch, one of those practical utility stitches, on my Bernina 830. Look at the picture on the screen, does it look like a wavy line to you? I thought it was some sort of overcast stitch. Who knew?

With some manipulation of the stitch length and width you can achieve this on your machine.  I quilted 1/4″ apart using the markings on my walking foot, not being all that careful about the width between rows.  Later I experimented with a different foot that would accommodate a 9 mm stitch width. Amazing!

I just had to share this, as I am thrilled to use it to get a few modern baby quilts done. It all goes to show you, you need to play and experiment.

I’m linking up with the other quilters over at Freshly Pieced for WIP Wednesday. Check out what they are up to.