Tags

,

Now Boarding, by Bill Kerr and Weeks RingleThis is a continuation of my post from yesterday on Quilt Con.  On Day Two (Friday) I was enrolled in a 1/2 day class with Bill Kerr from Modern Quilt Studio (formerly Fun Quilts). Bill and his wife Weeks Ringle were making modern quilts before it was trendy, starting their business in 1999. I love their books and now new magazine, Modern Quilts Illustrated. Bill is the chair of the art department at Dominica University in River Forest, IL. Bill taught us the use of color from an artist’s perspective. I learned so much in his class, especially about proportion. We all brought fabric swatches and pulled together color pallets. Bill also brought some of the quilts that have been in their books. It was fun to see them up close and personal. This is a photo of Bill and Week’s quilt titled, Now Boarding.

Lucky Penny and Melody Miller fabricThe rest of Day Two I shopped with the vendors and viewed the quilt show. The show and shopping was not comparable to the Houston Quilt Festival, after all this was a guild show, about the size of any local guild show with 288 quilts and approximately 50 vendors. I purchased some of Alison Glass’ new fabric line, Lucky Penney (Andover Fabrics) and Melody Miller’s fabulous linen fabrics (Kokka). You might have seen Alison’s quilt, Over Grown (People’s Choice Award) made with Lucky Penny fabrics on the Modern Quilt Guild website. I watched several demos of different products and purchased some of them, including Misty Fuse, a non-stick thermal sheet for applying the Misty Fuse, Sharon Schamber’s Quilt Halo for machine quilting and Sue Pelland Designs Quilter’s New Quilting BooksChalk Line for squaring up quilts and marking straight lines for quilting. I also picked up a few books: Angela Walters new book, In the Studio with Angela Walters, Kaffe Fassett’s new book, Shots and Stripes and Jessica Levitt’s new book, Modern Mix. (Yes, I did have a heavy suitcase going home!)

Quilt Con Block Challenge Quilt

I bought 48 raffle tickets in hopes of winning the Quilt Con Block Challenge Quilt (which contained one of my blocks). The quilt was featured on the cover of the conference program.

Best in Show ribbon

The ribbons on the winning quilts were all handmade, thoughtful and appropriate for a Modern Quilt Show, I loved them.

The Best in Show quilt was called Double Edged Love and was made by Victoria Findlay Wolfe and quilted by Lisa Sipes (New York City Modern Quilt Guild). I had the pleasure of being seated next to Victoria on my Victoria and Mereturn flight (Sunday). Even though I know she was exhausted, she graciously chatted with me from Austin to Houston. She snapped this picture and emailed to me the next day.

craftsy-logo

On Saturday I spent the day attending some really great lectures. some of my favorites were David Butler, Bill Kerr and Weeks Ringle, Amy Butler, Heather Grant, Jacquie Gering and Denyse Schmidt. But you too can see some of the great lectures and quilts on Craftsy for FREE.  I was thrilled to be able to see some of the lectures I missed while I was in classes and seeing the show.  The charity quilts made from the Quilt Con Block Challenge decorated the lecture hall and it was fun to find the blocks that I sent in. The quilts behind the speakers you will see in the Craftsy videos are some of the charity quilts, there were 46 in total and are being donated to the Austin Children’s Center. Rather than post a bunch of photos of the award winning quilts, please visit Craftsy and you can see them all. If you haven’t visited Craftsy yet, you should. There are some free classes and of course, the free Quilt Con videos. When you sign up you will periodically receive emails with discounts on classes. The great thing about Craftsy is that the classes do not expire and you can retake them over and over.

Overall, Quilt Con was a positive experience. I was thrilled to see so many young people involved in the craft so that we can carry on this beautiful tradition. All ages were represented, for the love of quilting!

Have a great quilty weekend,

Lora