Tags

,

IMG_0841I returned Sunday from QuitCon! My next post will be all about QuiltCon, but for now, I want to share what I have been doing since I got home. As many of you know, one of the premises behind “Modern Quilts” is that they are pieced and quilted by the same maker. Don’t get me wrong, I love, love, love my long-arm quilter, but I came back super inspired to give FMQ (free-motion quilting) another try. I love the texture that quilting gives the quilt and I think it could be fun if I can just get past this awkward phase.

IMG_0842I feel like a first grader trying to learn to write, so I drew lines on fabric, similar to lines on the paper we used to practice our letters in elementary school. I find that for now, working left to right and top to bottom, just like we write is working best for me. I have been experimenting with threads, needles, tension and stitch length, with BSR and without BSR. I think I have finally come up with a good combination for stitch quality and that involves the Bernina BSR (Bernina Stitch Regulator). I am using BSR1 setting and am getting alot better with hand, eye and foot coordination. I have been watching Craftsy videos because I am a visual learner. The instructors (Angela Walters and Leah Day) make it look so easy!

IMG_0843I am currently trying to figure out which method of moving around the fabric under the needle works best for me: Machinger gloves, foam pads or Sharon Schamber’s hoop.  I think I have the best control with the hoop, but I am still experimenting.  I’ll report more later, but so far it has been 4 days and I haven’t given up yet. Just making lots of “l” and “e” shapes. It is going to take doing it everyday, practicing lots of shapes before I’ll feel comfortable on a real quilt.

How long did it take you until you felt comforable with FMQ?

I’m joining the WIP Wednesday link party over at Freshly Pieced. Please check out what others are working on and leave comments for them. Have a great Wednesday!