Tags

, ,

Infinity ScarfHere is a little project I made over the holidays that is quick and easy. Do you have scarves that you don’t use? Living in Florida, we really don’t have much of a need for scarves for warmth, but I do like to wear them as purely an accessory. I found this article about making infinity scarves and I thought I would give it a try.  I wanted something that would drape nicely, but didn’t really want to use a solid knit as suggested in the article, so I took a scarf that I had purchased (on sale) at Talbots. It is made from a gauze fabric that has a nice drape.   I read through the instructions and also watched Vanessa Wilson’s You Tube video. It was a breeze to make and I just love to wear it. Here is a photo of Colette modeling it. It doesn’t really go with her suit, but you get the idea, right?

kaffedreamingcolor99962j-2Have you heard about the essay contest sponsored by STC Crafts|Melanie Falick Books and Rowan Fabrics? You can read all about it at The Modern Quilt Guild’s website. The contest is all about how Kaffe Fassett has influenced you as a quilter. Kaffe Fassett, along with Paula Nadelstern, Jinny Beyer, Weeks Ringle and Bill Kerr, have been major influences on me and I felt compelled to enter the contest. Here is a picture of a quilt (on the design wall) that I designed (2005) with Kaffe’s help using an unlikely combination of civil war prints and Kaffe’s fabrics. I will IMG_0060reprint the article when the contest is over so you can read all about this happy accident.

I hope everyone has a great, crafty weekend. Unfortunately I have to work, as we are heading into tax season and things are really heating up.  However, I do plan to work on a placemat, napkin and napkin ring order for Catherine’s Table. I’ll post pictures when I’m finished.

Piece ~ Lora