Tags

, , , ,

Cameron's Stocking My daughter-in-law is doing a Grinch themed Christmas and she asked me to make a Grinch skirt for my granddaughter, Izzy.  I had been seeing the Grinch fabric by Robert Kaufman all over the blogosphere, so I decided to pick up a fat quarter bundle to make both a skirt and stockings (that I mentioned last Wednesday) for two of my grandsons.

Cason's StockingHere are pictures of the stockings. I had a time getting the embroidery placement just right, but after redoing several times, I am pleased with the result. I used the Accucut die for this project. I have the Accucut GrandeMark die cutting machine. In case you didn’t know, this is the same machine as the Accuquilt Studio machine, only branded differently.  Many times you can get better deals on dies, machines and accessories at the Accucut Craft website. The Accucut Craft website caters to paper crafters and the Accuquilt website caters to quilters, but the machines and dies all do the same thing. You can cut fabric with either of the products. I like to use the dies for consistency, speed and ease of cutting. When making items for sale (that are not one of a kind) it is important to have consistency in the sizing of the product.

Grinch SkirtMy other Grinch item is the skirt for Izzy.  Here are the panels partially sewn together. I am using the same pattern I used for her fall outfit, The Stripwork Skirt, No. 5 from Pink Fig Patterns.

Izzy2Here is a picture of Izzy in her fall outfit. The applique is from Planet Applique. The shirt is a little big, but hopefully will be perfect next year.

I am linking up with the WIP Wednesday post over at Freshly Pieced. Please check out everyone’s WIPs this Wednesday.

Have a great day!

Lora