Tags

, ,

What a nice long weekend I had. I took Friday off so I could go to the quilt show in Jacksonville, Florida. I met up with another blogger, Linda Hungerford of Flourishing Palms blog. This was the first time we have met in person and we had so much fun looking at the quilts, shopping with vendors and just chatting the afternoon away. We also met Pauline Williams-Banta who had a quilt in the show and Lynn Provencher of Country Crossroads Quilt Shop. Here is a picture of Linda, me and Lynn with Pauline’s quilt. I was surprised to see how color coordinated we were, even with the quilt!

Now for the treasures I brought home. Some fabric designed by Kim Shaefer for Andover Fabrics and purple solid. Also, Bamboo Thicket Garden Wall and Painter’s Canvas by Laura Gunn for Michael Miller Fabrics and Atomic (Michael Miller Fabrics) and Red Solid. I also picked up a new book Free-Motion Quilting with Angela Walters.Ā I am taking Angela’s Craftsy Class, Machine Quilting Negative Space and I thought the book would also help me as I am a little challenged when it comes to free-motion quilting on my domestic sewing machine. Angela is a long-arm quilter, but the design ideas will apply to all types of machine quilters.

Oh, I mustn’t forget the basket from French Connections. This shop sells baskets made by a women’s cooperative in Ghana. I seem to get one every year and now have three. They are great for decorating.

I also finished up two dog beds this weekend. I used some older Valorie Wells and Joel Dewberry home dec fabric that I had saved. I am pleased with the way they turned out. The “girls” (Weezie and Lily) like them too.

Have a great week, look for more crafty/quilty news on WIP Wednesday.

Lora