Tags

, , , ,

Those of you that have been quilting for as many years as I have can appreciate the changes in trends in the quilt world. Even though I love the modern quilt movement, my roots are in traditional quilting and at the moment I am working on a very traditional quilt through Barbara Brackman’s Grandmother’s Choice: Votes for Women quilt along. Here are my blocks thus far. The quilt along will be a block a week for 49 weeks.

Here is a link to the flickr group if you want to see what others are doing. I am loving the blocks made in the Paula Nadelstern Puzzle Quilt Block style. So much, that I am thinking about starting another series of blocks in that genre. I’m loving this Amethyst Block. Wouldn’t it look great as a whole quilt in modern fabrics? The “Y” seams keep things interesting and challenging for me, as well as the fuzzy cutting for the kaleidoscopic center. Like many quilt blocks, this block has several names, including Amethyst, Kaleidoscope, Diamond Star, Priscilla and Hobby Nook.

 

 

 

 

My blocks are using a combination of solids and Jinny Beyer fabric. It is a mix of traditional and modern.

At the other end of the spectrum, my modern quilt guild charity quilt blocks are being featured today and tomorrow on the Modern Quilt Guild website. Today the theme is triangles. My blocks are last row, third block and first row, third block. You can check out the post here and see all the other blocks that have been submitted. Several blocks will be selected for a raffle quilt to raise money for the Modern Quilt Guild and will be auctioned off at the Quilt Con event in Austin, Texas in February, 2013. I have plans to go and see this awesome quilt, see the show and take a few classes. The other blocks will be used to make charity quilts for an Austin Children’s Center. The Gainesville Modern Quilters have discussed volunteering to put together one of these quilts. I hope it materializes (no pun intended)!

I am planning to attend the Quilt Fest of Jacksonville this weekend in Jacksonville, Florida. I was excited to learn last night that I would be able to meet up with one of my blogging friends at the event. If anyone else will be at the show on Friday, I would love to meet you. Please email me or leave a comment.

I’m hoping your Tuesday is great ~ Lora