Tags

, , , ,

Nothing packs more decorating punch than throw pillows and I am in desperate need of new ones for the living room. We are big users of pillows on the couch and on the floor for watching TV and napping/sleeping.  I recently watched an episode (#97) of an online sewing class at Power Sewing.  These are the easiest pillow covers ever. I ordered a bunch of decorator fabric on sale from Fabric.com and picked up pillow forms on sale at JoAnn’s. This is going to be my project for the next few days. It takes longer to press the fabric (I pre-washed the fabric) than to make the pillow cover. I subscribe to the online classes at Power Sewing, but you can view one show for $3.99. You might want to give them a try. These pillows measure 24″ square.

I’ve also started the quilt along over at Barbara Brackman’s new website, Grandmother’s Choice: Votes for Women. These are my fabric selections. The block for week two is the Amethyst quilt block. I plan to do a lot of fussy cutting with this quilt, using an older Jinny Beyer collection (Middleburg) that I have in my stash and Kona Solids. I need to get a few more light fabrics to punch up the value.

I’m linking up with the WIP Wednesday post over at Freshly Pieced. Please check out the other bloggers WIPs.