Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’m a little late with this post, but I thought I would fill you in on the many things I have worked on lately. I finally got the quilt sleeve stitched to the Twister Quilt and hung it at the office. I was going to put it in the conference room, but we recently added a drop ceiling and the quilt hung below the chair rail. I didn’t like that look, so decided to hang in the center hall. I think the colors look great in the office and it fits perfectly in this space. However, I hope it isn’t there long, as it is for sale in my Etsy shop.

After covering some artist canvas for an arrangement in the office conference room and in an effort to reduce my stash, I decided to take some beautiful Bold Over Batik fabrics and cover a few more artist canvases to sell in my Etsy shop. I got most of the canvases hung at the office and decided I am going to need to add to the arrangement. More on that project as it progresses.

I decided to join quilt historian Barbara Brackman’s new quilt along, Grandmother’s Choice: Votes for Women. I love all types of quilts: contemporary, traditional and modern.  I also love history and am particularly interested in this topic.  I think many women take for granted some of the privileges and rights that we owe to women that came before us. In honor of those women, I decided to make this quilt. If you are interested, check out Barbara’s website and the flickr group.  There will be one block a week and we are only in the first week, so you wouldn’t be far behind.

I’ve have been needing new kitchen dish cloths. I found some dish cloth fabric at one time and added it to my stash. It just does my heart good to use something pretty and handmade when doing everyday tasks.  I am experimenting with different styles and hope to have some in my Etsy shop soon, as I have much more fabric than I need.

Over the weekend, I discovered Craftsy.  Have you visited Craftsy yet? This site offers crafting classes that you can take online and once you purchase, you have access to the classes forever. There are a couple of free classes that you can take to try it out. These free classes are great! I have taken Creative Quilt Backs with Elizabeth Hartman of Oh! Fransson and The Craftsy Block of the Month with Amy Gibson of Stitchery Dickery Dock, both free. I loved them so much that I purchased Inspired Modern Quilts with Elizabeth Hartman. I am making a memory quilt for a coworker from cut up men’s shirts. This is the block I made after taking the Inspired Modern Quilts class. I joined the men’s shirting with varying widths of jelly roll strips and pieced on a paper foundation. I’ve struggled with this memory quilt and started out making the string blocks (below) on fabric foundations, but I think the quilt will be too heavy. We live in Florida and just don’t need that extra layer of fabric in the quilt. I would appreciate some feedback if anyone has made a fabric foundation pieced quilt. Which block do you like best? I suppose I could start over and piece the string blocks on paper foundation. Either way, I would need to pick out what I have already done so I can reuse the strips. Obviously since I am using shirts for some of the fabric, I am limited with the fabric and can’t afford to waste any. Thank goodness I am pretty fast with the seam ripper (have had lots of practice)!

I attended the Gainesville Modern Quilters meeting last night and we had a great group with some new folks visiting. I hope they come back. We did our usual show and tell and planned out the upcoming year. Some things to look forward to: Charity Quilts making tumbler quilts with Accuquilt Go tumbler die, technique demo-piecing hexagons with the machine by yours truly, program for a quilt guild in Ocala introducing them to modern quilts, participation in the Modern Quilt Guild’s QuiltCon charity quilt project. Check out all the blocks that have been submitted by subscribing to The Modern Quilt Guild blog. Daily posts will run until September 22.

Whew! I have been busy. I can’t believe its Thursday already. Love those short weeks when Monday is a holiday! I’m already looking forward to the weekend. I hope you are able to do something crafty this weekend-check out some of my links for inspiration ~ Lora