Tags

Well I missed the WIP Wednesday post this week. Monday holidays always mess me up that way. I really don’t have a lot to report anyway as I haven’t really started anything new since finishing the heart quilt, Trash to Treasure. The QuiltCon Block Challenge is weighing heavy on my mind-so I think that is what I will tackle next and I still have some napkins to finish up and placemats and a table runner to start. Other than that, the next UFO I want to tackle is the tessellating Twister Quilt. I just need to bind this one. I really want to get some of these quilts finished up so I can start on a new big project, but I won’t allow myself to do that until all UFOs are off my plate.

I receive a new book this week (amazon.com) that I wanted to share it with you. It is Elizabeth Hartman’s new book “Modern Patchwork.” “Modern Patchwork” is a publication of Stashbooks (C & T Publishing) and is Elizabeth’s second book. You might recognize Elizabeth from her involvement with the Modern Quilt Guild and her blog ohfransson.com. Elizabeth is currently doing a series of blog posts showing the quilts from the book. What I love about the quilts in this book is that the quilt backs are just as beautiful as the quilt tops. I personally think the back of the quilt should coordinate with the top and not be an afterthought. I appreciate the design decisions that went into each quilt. Each project in the book shows illustrations of different colorways. By the name and the cover, one would guess that the twelve projects have a very modern aesthetic, and they do. I like this type of book more for inspiration that anything else. I enjoyed the section on free-motion quilting, as I am a beginner when it comes to FMQ and it seems like a beginner would be able to do these designs with practice. I was a little disappointed with the photos of joining the binding, as I think joining the binding with a 45 degree join is the best way to make the join, not a 90 degree join. The project patterns all contain many color photographs and color illustrations to accompany the written instructions. The book contains full sized pull out patterns (no enlargements needed) that can be used to make templates. Additionally, the publisher encourages use of the book as a text for teaching and lesson plans can be obtained from the publisher.  Head on over to ohfransson.com and check out the quilts from “Modern Patchwork” to see if this is a book you want to add to your library.

Until next time, do something creative – Lora

Oops, forgot to tell you I’m linking up with all the other WIP Wednesday bloggers over at Freshly Pieced.  Don’t forget to check out their post and leave comments for them please!