Tags

, ,

Well it was a rainy Memorial Day here as we weathered Tropical Storm Beryl.  Actually, it is still raining and we need it so badly.  Our lake is dried up to the end of the dock and we had a forest fire near us last week that caused us to have to detour our regular route to Gainesville. As long as we have power and no high winds, I am pleased as punch to have Tropical Storm Beryl pay us a visit.

It was a good day to stay inside and photograph some quilts.  It is an ordeal to photograph large quilts, so I wait until I have several to do at once.  Besides stitching hanging sleeves to the back of the quilts, I have to rearrange furniture and set up two backdrops, one with a solid background fabric and one to hang the quilt on.  Photography is an ongoing learning process for me.  It is what was holding me back from starting by blog.  Hopefully, I will improve, but for now what you see is what you get.

I have add a few photos to my galleries and I’m sharing with you in this post.  I talked about the Trash to Treasure quilt in my previous post, but I included this photo sans the shadows.  The Bento Box quilt is a “well-loved” quilt that we use while watching TV.  Since the dogs are allowed on this quilt, it gets washed often and the binding is starting to fray at the corners. It was made as a shop sample that I made for a class that I taught in 2008.  The colors aren’t exciting, but the photo doesn’t do it justice.  Measuring 53.5″ x 80″, it is machine pieced by yours truly and long-arm machine quilted by Joan Gamble.

The Fast Triangles quilt was made in 1989.  It is a small (29″ x 29″) wall hanging quilt.  It was machine pieced and hand-quilted by me. I bring this quilt out at Christmas time.

I picked up the premier issue of “Quilty” at JoAnn’s last week.  “Quilty” is presented by Fons & Porter and is edited by Mary Fons (daughter of Mary Ann Fons).  It is geared (just like the online Quilty videos) to the beginning quilter.  It has 13 projects that are rated as beginner, level 1 through level 3.  There are a couple of designs that peaked my interest, like the curved log cabin and the Baby Life Quilt. There are some nice articles also; about the Modern Quilt Guild, the Quilts of Valor Project, preparing your quilt for the long-arm quilter, a Barn Block Tour, the making of the Quilty show, tip top techniques and many others.  I actually learned a tip I did not know and will use.  That is always a bonus for me and worth the price of the publication. I don’t think this magazine is available for subscription, but you can order here.

I have let most of my magazine subscriptions go, but I subscribed to “Stitch” because I sometimes seem to miss them on the newsstand.  The Fall 2012 issue arrived in my mailbox on Friday. Fall 2012, really, I’m not ready for summer yet! There are patterns in this issue for garment sewers and for project sewers. I really like the article on draping, as I just got a dress form and want to attempt to make something that actually fits! It is written by Gretchen “Girtie” Hirsch, she is very popular on the home garment sewing scene. There are also articles about hemming and sewing with knits. There is a very cute pattern for a shift with princess seams with piping. Some of the projects that attracted me were a chalkboard mat that doubles as an “I Spy” game, a recycled flannel shirt blanket, a measuring tape tote and various hat patterns. There are many other projects for hand embroidery enthusiasts and those that sew for kids. You can find out more about this issue and order here.

Have a great Tuesday (feels like Monday to me).  If you are in the southeast US-take your umbrella!