Tags

This week I have a quilt that I have been trying to finish for a year. The WIP Wednesday post has encouraged me to get moving on it.  I blogged about the inspiration for this quilt on February 11th.  Monday I squared up the quilt and chose the fabric for the binding.  Tuesday I made the binding and machine stitched it to the front of the quilt.  I thought the fabric looked pretty cool after cutting it up. I cut 2-1/4″ strips.

I always forget how to join the ends, so I did a mini tutorial so that I will have a reference in the future.  Hopefully someone else will find this useful.

Stitch binding to the front of the quilt, leaving about 10 inches un-stitched.

Overlap end of binding over beginning of binding.  The overlap should be the same as the original width of the strip (before folding).  In my case it was 2-1/4”.  Trim binding to the appropriate length.

Join ends perpendicular to each other, right sides together, like the picture. If you double click on the picture and zoom in, you will see that I had to restitch several times, due to my confusion.

Check that the binding is not twisted and will fit the space before trimming.  Trim the seam to ¼” and press the seam open.

Fold the binding and stitch the remaining section down.

All that is left is to turn the binding to the back of the quilt and hand stitch it down.  I love this part. Hopefully this quilt will be finished by next week, wish me luck ~ Lora

P.S. The pin cushion I featured last Wednesday is still in progress.

Be sure to check out all the WIPs over at Freshly Pieced.