Tags

, , ,

So you thought it was St. Patrick’s Day, did ya?  Don’t be fooled by the date of the post, it is still St. Patty’s Day by my clock.

Well today was also National Quilt Day.  Saturday morning, I celebrated by going to a program offered by the Tree City Quilt Guild in Gainesville, Florida.  The guild very generously brought Jan Krentz to speak with us, free of charge!  Thank you Tree City Quilters!

Jan is recognized for her use of diamonds and the hunter’s star quilts.  Jan, a designer and teacher, has published 6 books and designed several quilting rulers for cutting diamonds and other shapes that work with diamonds.  Jan’s talk, which centered on stars and diamonds, was an hour and a half. She showed slides of her studio and quilts.  She also had a trunk show, showing as many quilts as she could dare travel with from southern California.  I also picked up a few tips for preparing quilt backs and adding signatures to quilts.  Jan demonstrated the difference between quilts that contained cotton batting and those that had wool batting.  The quilts with the wool batting were not creased at all from being in her suitcase.  They were also very light weight.  I’ve used wool batting before and I love the dimension that it adds to the quilt.

I purchased Jan’s latest book “Quick Diamond Quilts & beyond” as well as a fussy cut ruler set and a half & quarter-diamond ruler set.  I’ve always loved star and diamond quilts (who am I kidding – I love all quilts) and I am now inspired to make one.

While I was in town I had to make a stop at Jo-Ann’s, where I picked up the new Vogue Pattern magazine, some more Denyse Schmidt fabrics and various widths of elastic.  By the way, do you know you can get coupon apps for your iphone or android mobile device for Jo-Ann’s Fabrics & Crafts and Michaels?  You can use these coupons along with the coupons that are mailed with the sales flyers and those received in your email inbox.  I managed to use 2-50% off coupons, 2-40% off coupons and 1- 20% off total purchase coupon.  I managed to save over $40.  What a deal! Check out this link for the Jo-Ann’s coupon app and see if the app will work with your mobile device.  If you have an iphone, you can find both Michaels and Jo-Ann’s coupon app at Apple’s App Store.

I wish I had more crafty news.  It is still super busy at my CPA office but I did manage to whip up a few of my holiday dog collars for my labs, Lily and Weezie for St. Patrick’s Day.  I am also happy to offer my second tutorial on how to make this quick, easy project.  I am just putting the finishing touches on it and I will have it posted tomorrow (3/18/12).

Happy sewing everyone, take your time and enjoy the process ~ Lora