Tags

, , , , ,

I attended the Gainesville Modern Quilt Guild meeting last night.  This is a great group!  We had a nice time visiting, sharing and learning.  We are so lucky to have Vanessa Wilson of Crafty Gemini as our organizer.  She is so enthusiastic and it is infectious.  The hour and a half went by so quickly.  We chatted, had “show-and-tell”, one member brought dessert and Vanessa taught us a slash block technique.

I met Pat Lucas of Sundara Fabrics.  She is an on-line fabric retailer. ‘Tis the season for quilt shows, so she is super busy vending at these shows.  She shared a great Kaleidoscope Quilt.  Dana shared her adaptation of a Moda Bake Shop pattern.  She modified the pattern so that she could insert quotes from scripture.  Made from University of Florida Gator fabric, everyone in Gainesville will want this quilt.  A finished project from the quilt-as-you-go workshop was also shared.  I shared my projects that I had submitted to the Moda Bake Shop Sliced Competition and the Valentine’s Day dog collars that I talked about in my February 14th post.  I also gave away a couple of Gator key fobs that I am unable to sell in my Etsy shop due to licensing issues with the University of Florida.

It is such an effort for me to go to night meetings, but I am glad I went and I look forward to the next meeting.  Our group is very informal – no officers, no business discussions, no dues.  I like it that way.

Remember everyone – it is National Craft Month, so do something crafty ~ Lora