Tags

, ,

Well it was a busy crafting weekend for me.  Have you been following the submissions for the Slice Contest from Moda Bake Shop?  For the longest time I had the only submission, then all of a sudden, there was a ton of submissions.  After seeing a couple of submissions from one person, I went back and re-read the guidelines for the contest, and sure enough, you can submit as many projects as you like.  So I had to put my thinking cap back on and come up with some other ideas.  This is what I came up with for my second submission.  The rules require an office/studio accessory that uses Moda pre-cut fabric (of course), batting and a buckle.  It is really hard to come up with ideas.  This ID tag can be used for your laptop case, sewing machine case, luggage, etc.  I think it will make your bag stand out in a crowd.  Great for those quilting retreats or classes.

I am also developing a few pin cushion designs to sell in my Etsy Shop.  Here are a couple of my proto-types.  Look familiar? I made one of the designs several years ago using the English Paper Piecing technique.  I figured that technique was too slow for production, so I came up with a machine piecing technique.  Aren’t they sweet?  I just love them.  They are stuffed with 100% cotton fill (Sweet Dreams) from the Quilters Dream batting folks.  I also ordered some 100% carded wool to try.  I heard that wool is better for your pins and needles.  I’ll let you know how that comes out, as I have another design in the works.  Notice the product label-I found a great tutorial over at meylah.com to make these.  I also have a site there for promoting my digital tutorials and patterns.  I’ve only posted one tutorial so far, but more to come.

Even with all the crafting, I did manage to make it to JoAnn’s over the weekend.  I loaded up on buttons at the “buy one, get one” President’s Day sale.  I think they will look so cute on the pin cushions.

I hope this inspires you to get crafty ~ Lora