Tags

,

I spent 2011 creating a new studio space.  As I was sorting through fabric and supplies I came upon some old quilt tops that dated back to the 1980’s.  I was reluctant to finish them, but could not bear to part with them either.  So off they went to my fabulous long-arm quilter, Joan Gamble of Sew Artfully Quilted.  Joan gave these quilts new life!  I am currently binding “Card Tricks” (see below) which will be a gift to my mother.  I think the colors in this quilt will look nice in her apartment.  There is much more UFO (UnFinished Objects) completion in store for 2012 in order to make more room in my studio.

Another project for 2012 is to wash, iron, fold and organize my fabric stash.  See the shelves in the picture?  This is a Murphy Bed.  The shelves are narrow, but with the help of a 4″ rotary cutting ruler, I can fold the fabric to fit nicely (4″ x 6″) on the shelves.  This will be a big project, but well worth it in the end.  These shelves are the first thing I see when entering my studio space and I want to see a blast of color when I walk in.

Getting caught up with record keeping and stocking my Etsy Shop are other big goals of mine for 2012.  I figure if I make a commitment in writing, that will give me the incentive to actually get it done. What projects do you have in store for 2012?

Card Tricks, circa 1980 (50" x 60")

Fabric Organization