Tags

, , ,

Wow was I busy last week with work, so not much sewing on the home front.  I did manage to get most of the nine patches sewn (80) for the Square Dance Quilt, have 20 more to go, then I get to cut them all up.

I also made a gift for a friend that appreciates handmade items.  I recently got the new book “Zakka Style,” compiled with Rashida Coleman-Hale.  I wanted to make the pot-holders on page 65, but I didn’t have access to a copier to enlarge the pattern, but I do have an Accuquilt Go die for a 5″ circle and decided to make coasters instead.  I sewed the strips together and sandwiched and straight line quilted with some batting and linen, then cut out the circle.  I then made some bias binding from the linen and bound the edges.  The hardest part was the binding.  I would like to say that this was a quick project, but the binding seemed to take forever because I wanted it as perfect as possible.  Who wants a wonky circle?  She liked the gift and I felt good about giving her something handmade.

I’ve been working on some new quilt designs, I will share more later.